

Minutes of the Nineteenth Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 13th November 2018 at The Wheatsheaf, Old Bath Road

18.0 Welcome

The Chair, John Harvey (JH), welcomed about 35 members and visitors to the Nineteenth AGM of FOLK and thanked his fellow Exec Members for their support over the past year.

18.1 Apologies for Absence

Tim Sugrue, Peter Whalley, Shirley Wood, Paul Ryder, Chris Ryder, Guy Meredith, Rick Plumber

18.2 Minutes of the Eighteenth AGM Held on 15th November 2017

The minutes of the eithteenth AGM were accepted and signed as a true record of the meeting.

Proposed: John Palmer Seconded: Pete Niblett

18.3 Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

18.4 Membership Secretary

JH announced that Anne North is stepping down as membership secretary after performing the role for 19 years. Throughout that time Anne has been assisted by her daughter Annette. Both Anne and Annette had also supported the work of FOLK in a variety of different ways over the past 19 years. In recognition of their significant contribution over a sustained period JH presented Anne and Annette with letters signed by the Mayor of Cheltenham awarding them life membership of FOLK.

JH announced that the new membership secretary would be Tony Duffin.

18.5 Newsletter Editor

JH announced that Peter Whalley was stepping down as the newsletter editor after performing this role with distinction for many years. John thanked Peter for producing the consistently high quality newsletter over this period.

JH announced that the new editor of the newsletter would be Martin Wood.

18.6 Annual Review

JH presented a number of charts showing the work of FOLK over the past year and the plans for the year ahead. Acceptance of these charts (including the accounts for the year

ended 30th Sept 2018) were proposed by Julius Marstrand and seconded by Serena Meredith. The charts presented by JH are available as appendix 1 to these minutes. The full accounts are available as appendix 2 to these minutes.

18.7 Amendments to the constitution

JH proposed amendments to the constitution allowing officers and members of the Executive Committee to continue in post beyond the limits set out in the constitution if no other candidates are proposed. Acceptance of these amendments were proposed by Geoff Holt and seconded by Alistair Mckenzie. There were no objections from any members and the proposed amendments were, therefore, adopted.

18.5 Election of Officers and Executive Committee Members 18.5.1 Election of Officers

Chair, John Harvey is eligible and willing to stand for a further year. There being no other nominees, John Harvey continues as Chair.

Treasurer, Malcolm Geddes is eligible and willing to stand for a further year. There being no other nominees, Malcolm Geddes continues as Treasurer

Secretary, Andrew Ross is eligible and willing to stand for a further year. There being no other nominees, Andrew Ross continues as Secretary.

The meeting approved these decisions.

18.5.2. Election of Executive Committee Members

Committee Members are elected to serve for a term of 3 years, and can be re-elected for a second term of 3 years.

The Chairman presented a chart showing the Exec members for the past year and those proposed for the coming year (the chart is included with the charts in appendix 1). The meeting approved the appointment of the Exec members as proposed

18.6 Any Other Business

There was no other business so the formal AGM closed at around 7.30 pm, followed by an interesting, talk about the Cotswold AONB by John Heathcott from the Cotswold Wardens.

Signed:	 Chair
	 Secretary
Date:	